A letter to my daughter:

I’ve been watching you.  When you think no one is looking, I am and I want you to know.  I have seen what you are doing and I can’t keep quiet about it any longer.

I saw you at Auntie’s birthday dinner when your sister was at camp and you were the only big kid around.  You happily sat with your little cousins who are in awe of you.  You got lost in the moment with them…you filled them up without realizing you were giving them a gift.  You were giving them you. 

And I saw the whole thing. 

Daddy called me one morning after he dropped you off at school and had a catch in his voice.  After you got out of the car, you rushed to the aid of a girl on crutches to carry her bag.  A girl that is exclusive and not always considerate of you.  He saw you and was so humbled by your grace.  Your principal saw you too and signaled Dad by making a heart with her hands. 

They were watching and you didn’t know it.  You didn’t know it but you did it anyway.

During family dinners when we ask about your day, you are overflowing with information and knowledge to share with us.  I am taking it all in…and apparently you are too.  I sit in awe as you recite statistics, Latin translations, important dates, and enlighten us about civilizations from long ago.  I give credit to your teachers, but I give more credit to you for being interested and taking it all in.  People who are interested in learning are interesting people. 

You, my dear, are interesting. 

I was listening the day you decided it was time to learn how to play guitar.  You sat strumming away on Dad’s Fender, and with YouTube, time and patience, I listened to you slowly figure out how to make the strings sing.  It wasn’t perfect, but you tried, and that’s what made it beautiful. 

And I got to hear that. 

The other night when I was tucking you in at bedtime?  You looked me in the eyes and said with all sincerity, “Mama, you are a nice lady.”  I know the situation that prompted you to say that to me, and hearing your words felt like winning the lottery.  Your sweet compliment told me that YOU are watching and seeing and noticing too.

You are getting it.

You are growing into someone who doesn’t just look inward anymore, but who looks out and around.  Promise me you won’t stop doing that, okay?  It will take you places literally and figuratively that wouldn’t be possible if you only looked within. 

You are going places my girl.  It is in you to soar high and shine bright.   

And I’m the lucky Mama who gets to see the whole thing. 

xoxo,

Mom
   




Leave a Reply.